Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Home » Maria Klawe

Personal Profile of Dr. Maria M. Klawe


Maria Klawe became President of the Harvey Mudd College on July 1, 2006. Previously she served as Dean of Engineering and a professor of Computer Science at Princeton University. She moved to Princeton in January 2003 from the University of British Columbia where she served as Dean of Science from 1998 to 2002, Vice-President of Student and Academic Services from 1995 to 1998, and Head of the Department of Computer Science from 1988 to 1995. Prior to UBC, Maria spent eight years with IBM Research in California, and two years at the University of Toronto. She received her PhD (1977) and BSc (1973) in Mathematics from the University of Alberta.

Maria has made significant research contributions in several areas of mathematics and computer science including functional analysis, discrete mathematics, theoretical computer science, interactive-multimedia for mathematics education, and assistive technology. She was the founder and director of the EGEMS project, a collaborative project on the design and use of computer games in enhancing mathematics education for grades 4 to 9.

During the decade from 1993 to 2002 EGEMS developed several innovative and successful prototype games, and did seminal work in identifying important factors in the design of effective educational software. EGEMS research also studied the role of gender in technology-based learning environments and identified significant gender differences in how students interact with computers and software. This research was extended under the auspices of the NSERC-IBM Chair for Women in Science and Engineering that Maria held from 1997 to 2002, and the SWIFT (Supporting Women in Information Technology) project on how to attract and retain women in information technology careers.

Maria is a Past President of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) in New York, and a trustee of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute in Berkeley. She also serves on the boards of Math for America, Broadcom and Microsoft.

In the past Maria has held leadership positions in the American Mathematical Society, the Computing Research Association, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and the Canadian Mathematical Society. Maria was elected as a Fellow of the Association of Computing Machinery in 1995, a Founding Fellow of the Canadian Information Processing Society in 2006, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Science in 2009. Other awards include Vancouver YWCA Women of Distinction Award in Science and Technology (1997), Wired Woman Pioneer (2001), Canadian New Media Educator of the Year (2001), BC Science Council Champion of the Year (2001), University of Alberta Distinguished Alumna (2003), Nico Habermann Award (2004), and honorary doctorates from the University of Maryland Baltimore County, University of British Columbia (2010), Mount Saint Vincent’s University (2009), University of Ottawa (2008), University of Alberta (2007), Acadia University (2006), Dalhousie University (2005), Queen’s University (2004), the University of Waterloo (2003), and Ryerson University (2001).

Current/Future Committee Membership
Name Office Start Date End Date
Board of Trustees Mar 01, 2012 Feb 29, 2016
Committee on Trustees May 01, 2014 Feb 28, 2015
Corporate Partners Committee Mar 01, 2012 Feb 29, 2016
Development Committee Mar 01, 2012 Feb 29, 2016
Education Committee Mar 01, 2012 Feb 29, 2016
Educational Advisory Committee Mar 01, 2008 Feb 28, 2015
Endowment Campaign Committee Mar 05, 2011 Feb 29, 2016

Past Committee Membership
Name Office Start Date End Date
Board of Trustees Mar 06, 2004 Mar 01, 2008
Board of Trustees Mar 02, 2008 Mar 01, 2012
Committee on Trustees May 16, 2006 Mar 01, 2007
Committee on Trustees Jul 30, 2010 Mar 01, 2011
Committee on Trustees Jul 06, 2012 Feb 28, 2013
Committee on Trustees Aug 08, 2013 Feb 28, 2014
Corporate Partners Committee Feb 28, 2008 Mar 01, 2012
Development Committee Nov 15, 2004 Mar 01, 2012
Education Committee Nov 15, 2004 Mar 01, 2012
Recompetition Committee Sep 01, 2007 Jul 08, 2010