Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Home > Pages > The CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications

The CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications

This award was established in 2006 by the CME Group and MSRI. The award recognizes an individual or a group for originality and innovation in the use of mathematical, statistical or computational methods for the study of the behavior of markets, and more broadly of economics. The recipient receives a commemorative bronze medallion and a cash award of $25,000, presented during a celebration held at the CME Group headquarters in Chicago.

Recipients of the award are:

2006 Steven A. Ross
2007 David Kreps
2008 Lars Peter Hansen
2009 Sanford J. Grossman
2010 Jean Tirole
2011 Thomas J. Sargent
2012 Robert Shiller
2013 Bengt Holmstrom
2014 Jose Scheinkman

 cme medal

The medal was designed by San Francisco Bay Area artist Marika Somogyi. The unique double-sided bas-relief medallion is symbolic of the industry-academe partnership of the CME-MSRI Prize: mathematical formulae link one side that represents the excitement of the CME trading floor with the other face that displays a mathematician’s lecture at the chalkboard in MSRI’s Simons Auditorium.

cme logo