Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Home » 2019 CME Group - MSRI Prize

Special Events

2019 CME Group - MSRI Prize April 07, 2020 (09:00 AM PDT - 12:00 PM PDT)
Parent Program: --
Location: Chicago Cultural Center

2019 CME Group-MSRI Prize Announced

Press Release TBA

The 13th annual CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications was awarded to Susan Athey. The ceremony was scheduled to be held at the Chicago Cultural Center in Chicago, IL on April 7, 2020. It was postponed due to COVID-19.

The CME Group-MSRI Prize is awarded to an individual or a group to recognize originality and innovation in the use of mathematical, statistical or computational methods for the study of the behavior of markets, and more broadly of economics.




About Susan Athey

Susan Athey is the Economics of Technology Professor at Stanford Graduate School of Business. She received her bachelor’s degree from Duke University and her PhD from Stanford, and she holds an honorary doctorate from Duke University. She previously taught at the economics departments at MIT, Stanford and Harvard. Her current research focuses on the economics of digitization, marketplace design, and the intersection of econometrics and machine learning.  She has worked on several application areas, including timber auctions, internet search, online advertising, the news media, and the application of digital technology to social impact applications. As one of the first “tech economists,” she served as consulting chief economist for Microsoft Corporation for six years, and now serves on the boards of Expedia, Lending Club, Rover, Turo, and Ripple, as well as non-profit Innovations for Poverty Action.  She also serves as a long-term advisor to the British Columbia Ministry of Forests, helping architect and implement their auction-based pricing system. She is the founding director of the Golub Capital Social Impact Lab at Stanford GSB, and associate director of the Stanford Institute for Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence.


About the event

This event was postponed due to COVID-19.

CME Group-MSRI Prize 2019  Selection Committee:

  • Douglas Diamond, Merton H. Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Darrell Duffie, Dean Witter Distinguished Professor of Finance at the Graduate School of Business and, professor by courtesy, Department of Economics, Stanford University
  • David Eisenbud,  prize committee chair; Director, MSRI; and, Professor of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley
  • Jack Gould, Steven G. Rothmeier Professor and Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Lars Peter Hansen, The David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, Statistics and the Booth School of Business; Director, Macro Financial Research Initiative (at Chicago since 1982); 2008 CME Group-MSRI Prize; 2013 Nobel Prize
  • Albert S. (Pete) Kyle, Charles E. Smith Chair in Finance and Distinguished University Professor, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland; 2018 CME Group-MSRI Prize
  • Leo Melamed, Chairman Emeritus, CME Group; and, Chairman and CEO of Melamed & Associates, Inc.
  • Paul Milgrom, Shirley and Leonard Ely professor of Humanities and Sciences in the Department of Economics at Stanford University; and professor, by courtesy, at both the Department of Management Science and Engineering and the Graduate School of Business; 2017 CME Group-MSRI Prize
  • Roger Myerson, David L. Pearson Distinguished Service Professor of Global Conflict Studies in the Harris School of Public Policy and the Griffin Department of Economics at the University of Chicago; 2007 Nobel Prize
  • Maureen O'Hara, Robert W. Purcell Professor of Finance at the Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University; and Professor at the University of Technology Sydney
  • Myron Scholes, Frank E. Buck Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Stanford Graduate School of Business. 1997 Nobel Prize Winner
  • Jean Tirole, Honorary chairman of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Toulouse School of Economics Foundation; and Chairman of the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse; 2010 CME Group-MSRI Prize
  • Robert Wilson, The Adams Distinguished Professor of Management, Emeritus at Stanford Graduate School of Business; 2016 CME Group-MSRI Prize

Medal awarded to the winner of the CME Group-MSRI Prize


The CME Center for Innovation’s mission is to identify, foster and showcase examples of significant innovation and creative thinking pertaining to markets, commerce or trade in the public and private sectors.

A list of past winners can be found on the CME Group-MSRI Prize site.
No Video Uploaded
Media No Notes/Supplements Uploaded No Video Files Uploaded